ANNUAL MEETING 4 May 2021

LOCAL GOVERNMENT & HOUSING ACT 1989 – PROPORTIONAL REPRESENTATION

ARRANGEMENTS – REGULATORY & OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEES 2021/2022

- a) In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 2.3 (i) the following Regulatory and Overview and Scrutiny Committees of the Council be constituted for the ensuing year:
 - Audit and Standards Committee
 - Licensing and General Purposes Committee
 - Overview and Scrutiny Committee
 - Planning Committee
- b) In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 2.3 (ii) the terms of reference for the Regulatory and Overview and Scrutiny Committees and the scheme of delegation, be as set out within Articles 6 and 8 and "Part 3 Responsibility for Functions" of the Constitution.
- c) In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 2.3 (ii) and (iii) the membership of Political Groups and the allocation of seats to serve on each Committee be as follows:

Membership

CONSERVATIVE (13) C

Barnes, J	Johnson
Barnes, M L	Kirby-Green
Bird	Maynard
Browne	Mooney
Carroll	Osborne
Curtis	Stevens
Ganly	

ASSOCIATION OF INDEPENDENTS (13) AoI

Brewerton	Jeeawon
Byrne	Langlands
Clark	Madeley
Drayson	Oliver
Earl-Williams	Timpe
Errington	Vine-Hall
Harmer	

LIBERAL DEMOCRAT & GREEN (8) LD&G

Cook	Mier
Dixon	Norton
Field	Prochak
Gray	Thomas

LABOUR (3) LAB

Bayliss	
Coleman	
Courtel	

d) The Liberal Democrat Group and the Green Party Member for Old Town and Worsham Ward have formed a political group for the purposes of the allocation of committee seats in accordance with the Local Government and Housing Act 1989. The Group will be known as the Liberal Democrat & Green Group. In accordance with usual practice for the purposes of committee seat allocation the vacant seat (Eastern Rother) has been allocated to the Group who last held the seat (Conservative). The allocation of Committee Seats is therefore as follows, in accordance with the political balance of the Council:

Allocation of Seats

Committees	<u>C</u>	<u>Aol</u>	LD&G	<u>LAB</u>
Audit and Standards (8)	3	3	1(2)	1 (0)
Planning (14)	5	5	3	0 (1)
Licensing & General Purposes (12)	4	4	3	1
OSC (12)	5	4	2	1
TOTALS	17	16	10	3

e) The Labour Group are unable to take up their seat on the Planning Committee and have given the seat to the Liberal Democrat and Green Group. The Liberal Democrat and Green Group have given up one of their seats on the Audit and Standards Committee to the Labour Group. The seat allocation and the actual entitlement is shown in brackets in the table above. The overall seat allocation to the political groups remains the same and is in accordance with political balance requirements.

Substitutes

f) In accordance with the Council's Substitute Procedure, one named Substitute is also permitted from each Political Group on the Planning Committee, the Licensing and General Purposes Committee and the Overview and Scrutiny Committee. Substitutes appointed to the Planning and Licensing and General Purposes Committees must have undertaken the pre-requisite mandatory training to take an active part in the meetings, when acting as Substitute. It is noted that as the Labour Group have not appointed a substantive Planning Committee Member, there is no Labour Group Substitute on the Planning Committee.

Audit and Standards Committee - 8 Members

(3xC, 3xAoI, 2*xLD&G)

<u>C</u>	Aol	LD&G	LAB
Barnes, J.	Harmer	Thomas	Courtel
Mrs Barnes, M.L.	Jeeawon		
Kirby-Green	Madeley		

^{*}one LD&G seat given to Labour Group.

Licensing & General Purposes Committee – 12 Members (4xC, 4xAoI, 3xLD&G, 1xLAB)

<u>C</u>	Aol	LD&G	LAB
Bird	Byrne	Field	Coleman
Browne	Harmer	Mier	
Curtis	Madeley	Thomas	
Vacancy	Timpe		
Substitute:	Substitute:	Substitute:	Substitute:
Kirby-Green	Earl-Williams	Gray	Bayliss

Overview and Scrutiny Committee - 12 Members

(5xC, 4xAoI, 2xLD&G, 1xLAB)

<u>C</u>	Aol	<u>LD</u>	LAB
Barnes, J.	Clark	Cook	Coleman
Carroll	Earl-Williams	Gray	
Maynard	Errington		
Mooney	Madeley		
Osborne			
Substitute:	Substitute:	Substitute:	Substitute:
Stevens	Langlands	Thomas	Courtel

Planning Committee - 14 Members

(5xC, 5xAoI, 3xLD&G, 1*xLAB)

<u>C</u>	Aol	LD&G
Mrs Barnes, M.L.	Errington	Gray
Curtis	Harmer	Mier
Ganly	Langlands	Prochak
Johnson	Madeley	Norton
Stevens	Vine-Hall	
Substitute:	Substitute:	Substitute:
Barnes, J.	Timpe	Thomas

^{*}one LAB seat given to LD&G Group.

g) The Chief Executive be granted delegated authority to undertake a review of the allocation of committee seats following the Eastern Rother Ward byelection and to agree any necessary adjustments and appointments of Members to committee seats in accordance with the relevant Group Leaders' wishes.

Malcolm Johnston Chief Executive